Homemade laundry liquid

I was reading “Down to Earth – a guide to simple living” by Rhonda Hetzel.  And it reminded me to try the homemade laundry liquid.  The recipe which is in the book, is also freely available on the internet.  There’s also a powdered version but I think liquid will work better in my front loader.  So here’s the recipe I tried:

Ingredients:

1 cup pure soap – grated or flaked (I used the coles brand pure soap)
1/2 cup washing soda
1/2 cup borax
1 1/2 litres water

Into a medium-sized saucepan, add the water and soap.  Over medium heat, stir until soap is completely dissolved.
Add the washing soda and borax.  Stir until thickened and remove from heat.
Pour mixture into a bucket with a litre of cold water to start with (in case you melt plastic bucket!).  Then fill up the bucket with tap water up to 10 litres.
Stir to combine all the ingredients.  The laundry liquid will thicken up as it cools and often separates.  The more you stir it while it is cooling, the smoother the liquid will be.
Pour the liquid into containers that you fill almost to the top; leave room in the container so that you can shake it before use.  Use old detergent containers or 2-litre milk bottles.
Use 1/4 to 1/2 cup of mixture per load.

I also added a dash of tea tree oil into the bottle.  That really gives a refreshing wash.

Do note that there will be no suds but it cleans well and doesn’t make the clothes hard and dry, requiring the use of softener.

Here’s the link to Rhonda’s posts about homemade laundry liquid including step by step guide with pictures and the costings (very cheap compared to commercial laundry liquid!)

 

3 thoughts on “Homemade laundry liquid

  1. It is a great recipe. I have been making the liquid hand soap of rhondas for a few years now and it is fab!

    1. I think I’ve missed the liquid hand soap bit, is it easy to make? I just tried the general cleaning solution with washing soda last night…works great! Will share that soon…

Comments are closed.