Croydon Food Swap

Promotes and encourages sustainable gardening

Broad bean shoots

I’ve been planting broad beans (also known as fava or faba beans) for many years but I’ve only recently took a real liking to it.  I didn’t realise that they were the same beans that were highly processed (deep fried), available in kiosk that sell nuts and other snacks.  I love those!  So I thought I’d make a healthy version of those beans (when I made the connection).  Last summer, I consumed many trays of roasted broad beans.  It was addictive!

When autumn came and I ran out of broad beans, I decided to plant a whole patch of them.  I used to plant them just as companion plants and to enrich the soil (green manure).  Now it’s a different story.  But what to do in the meantime, while waiting for the beans?  The plants were growing nice and strong mid winter.

Broad bean plants

Broad bean plants

I discovered that the shoots (young tips) and the flowers can be eaten!  Bonus winter crop!  With the 20 or so plants I had, the shoots were enough for one meal.  How to cook them?  We stir fried them with garlic and salt and they tasted just like pea shoots.  Now I can’t wait to have more 🙂

Here’s a picture of how to harvest the shoots (black line as cutting guide).

Broad bean shoot

Broad bean shoot

Comments are closed.